Hat’s all folks

Krista is an MA student currently on a placement here at the museum. Whilst workign withthe collections she found some objects which not only confused her, but reminded her of her past. Here she tells you why…

My parents love to wear Stetsons, blue jeans and cowboy boots. Once when I was being picked up to go to a youth group, the friend who gave me a lift commented on the fact that he had just driven past two cowboys standing on the corner of my street with guitar cases. To my embarrassment, I had to admit that they were related to me and they were waiting for a lift to a folk club (Oh the shame).

Image

If only Achilles had worn a hat into battle then no-one would have noticed his heel!

When I first came across these diminutive hats a number of ideas flitted through my mind. Perhaps they were made to be hats for the dolls of rich children, or hats for babies. How you would keep the hats on a baby’s head, I don’t know (elastic bands?). Perhaps they were made for costume in a travelling show? Or maybe a family of borrowers have moved into the museum archives and I have unwittingly stumbled across their wardrobe? If it is the latter and the (tech savvy) borrowers are reading this, don’t panic, I’ll return them shortly.

Image

I think Daniel Thwaites looks wonderful,it complements his moustache. He doesn’t seem so pleased about it though!

Milliners are professional hat maker, for example, the Mad Hatter from Alice in Wonderland is a milliner. This profession holds the responsibility for the creation of Stetsons (named after John B. Stetson) and other such hats (did I mention that my mother also owns a number of bonnets?). When milliners travelled around to sell hats they couldn’t carry around all of the hats that they are capable of making. Even a small selection would be too bulky and difficult to manage. In order to show their customers what sort of hats they may want the milliners made model hats. This way they could whip out an example of their craft in a ‘here’s one I made earlier’ kind of moment then take orders for the actual size version. Let’s just not invite them to my parents’ house or who knows my family’s next hat craze might be.

2 Responses to “Hat’s all folks”


  1. 1 sean robinson April 5, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    hi, my name is sean robinson. my grandfather, crispin robinson, had a scaled down northrop weaving machine exhibited at the museum. i believe it was engineered for the festival of britain in 1951. would you still have this loom at the museum? i would love to see it again.

    many thanks sean

    • 2 Vinai Solanki April 30, 2013 at 1:44 pm

      Hi Sean,

      Unfortunately we do not have a scaled down Northrop here. It would be fantastic if we did. We do have a few ex-northrop workers that come in and I will see if anyone else remembers this item.

      Vinai


Leave a Reply

Blackburn Museum can be found in Blackburn, Lancashire. It houses objects documenting Blackburn's industrial past as well as a world class collection of Fine Art, Japanese prints, Icons, Numismatics and Manuscripts. Come and visit us to find out more.

Blog Stats

  • 25,008 hits

Blackburn Museum Tweets

Recent Comments

Vinai Solanki on Hat’s all folks
sean robinson on Hat’s all folks
Kevin Kelly on Push it. Push it real goo…
Catherine Atherton on Marketing Blackburn: A beginne…
martin.ward@hamnetth… on Taste of Heaven or is it …

