Q: What do you get if you jump out and scare a fruit?

A: You get a petrified apple!

An apple a day keeps the doctor away...That's because this one will bring the funeral director round!

(This is according to whoever identified it in the late 19th Century. If you think it’s not a petrified apple please get in touch through the comments section. Just be aware you will be ruining my joke)

1 Response to “Q: What do you get if you jump out and scare a fruit?”


  1. 1 Ian August 21, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Tuesday 21st August 2012, 9.50pm (Australian Eastern Standard Time).

    Yes. It is in fact a petrified apple. I have one just like it. I live in Australia. I inherited my petrified apple from my late Grandfather who was given it and another one during World War 2 while serving in Darwin. The second apple was lost by one of my Mother’s sisters when she , as a child, took it to school to show her friends. I know nothing of where the apples originally came from.
    Earlier tonight I gave my apple to one of my brothers to take home to show his daughter because I eventually intend passing it onto her as she is well into rock collecting. When I get it back I’ll take a photo of it and see if I’m able to post it here.
    Cheers.


Leave a Reply

Blackburn Museum can be found in Blackburn, Lancashire. It houses objects documenting Blackburn's industrial past as well as a world class collection of Fine Art, Japanese prints, Icons, Numismatics and Manuscripts. Come and visit us to find out more.

Blog Stats

  • 25,351 hits

Blackburn Museum Tweets

Recent Comments

Vinai Solanki on Hat’s all folks
sean robinson on Hat’s all folks
Kevin Kelly on Push it. Push it real goo…
Catherine Atherton on Marketing Blackburn: A beginne…
martin.ward@hamnetth… on Taste of Heaven or is it …

