Iron Lion Zion

I hate it.

I always feel like I could be doing something more productive with my time.  I’m talking about the recreational pastime of ironing. Unfortunately, I’m not one of those people who like nothing more than to iron their clothes whilst watching Emmerdale. I’m not even one of those people who like to hastily iron their clothes in their underwear just before they go to work. I’m not even one of these people. I’m one of those people that just hate doing it.

I have recieved good responses from road testing the clogs and tasting sarsparilla so have decided to do some more historical testing and as you might have guessed, this time I chose an iron. We have a few different types of irons within the collection. Quite prominent are these types of charcoal iron, as I do not have any charcoal to hand, however, I chose to take this bad boy for a spin.

A Victorian Iron

A very traditional Victorian iron, it would sit upon a large stove and would heat up until it was hot enough to iron with. As I did not have the luxury of a large stove (we have one on display in the ‘Skill and Labour’ gallery but i’m not sure the Fire Service would be too happy if I got it going again) I decided to use the old heating pipes in the Victorian Gallery.

Is it hot in here or is it just me?

 I bought a shirt from a well known discount retailer and have been sitting on it for two days to get it creased. After the iron got hot (or as hot as it was going to get) I got to work. Due to the extreme weight of the iron it took a while but once I had finished I could step back and admire my work.

I left my ironing board at home so had to use a makeshift

No difference at all. Consulting wikipedia I found that the ideal temperature to iron my shirt is 135°c. D’oh! The experiment is not a total disappointment. I managed to think of a solution to the problem.

Get the large stove going.

0 Responses to “Iron Lion Zion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blackburn Museum can be found in Blackburn, Lancashire. It houses objects documenting Blackburn's industrial past as well as a world class collection of Fine Art, Japanese prints, Icons, Numismatics and Manuscripts. Come and visit us to find out more.

Blog Stats

  • 25,664 hits

Blackburn Museum Tweets

Recent Comments

Vinai Solanki on Hat’s all folks
sean robinson on Hat’s all folks
Kevin Kelly on Push it. Push it real goo…
Catherine Atherton on Marketing Blackburn: A beginne…
martin.ward@hamnetth… on Taste of Heaven or is it …

